The eBayowulf Cluster: continued

Vectra ve6I’ve been meaning to migrate my page about “The eBayowulf Cluster” from my old blog for a while now, and I finally got around to doing it today. There’s not really much new material there – pretty much direct plagiarism from the old page – but then there really hasn’t been much progress of late. (I would like to get some pics up…) This is partially because of a lack of time to dedicate to such “frivolous” pursuits, and partially because I haven’t been able to obtain 11 (or so) 128MB sticks of PC66 SDRAM, and I’ve decided that 5 machines running with 32MB of RAM is a little more low-end than I want to go.

At any rate, I’m still looking; when I luck into a hidden cache of memory, you’ll be the first to know!

2 Comments on “The eBayowulf Cluster: continued”

  1. Steve Harman says:

    Dude,
    Why not just use of bunch of old PC100 DIMMs? Most decent chips should reduce their clock rate to run at 66MHz… and I’ve seen adds for PC100 RAM all over the circulars and web [http://www.pricewatch.com/prc.aspx?i=33&a=1282&p=0&f=1]. Shouldn’t cost you more than a like $15 each, less if you buy in bulk.

    Also, let your friends/family/co-workers know that you’re looking for some old PC parts. Most people will simply trash their old equipment assuming its not worth anything. I’d be willing to bet that most of those “old” boxes are full of PC100 RAM.

    One man’s junk, is bound to be your treasure.

  2. cliff says:

    Well, the good news here is that I’m starting out at the “bottom”; i.e., anything PC66 and above should (theoretically) work. The thing is that I’m a little hesitant to pay $15/DIMM, since that’s more than I payed for each machine. (I got all 6 of the Vectras for a total of I think $84).

    The second suggestion – hit up family and friends – has actually proven to be fairly successful. In addition to the 6 boxen I got from eBay and the 2 that I had sitting around, I’ve gotten 2 machines from a buddy and 1 from my old boss. I also have a few more potentially coming in from various people. Hopefully, some of them will have a decent amount of memory/disk that I can cannibalize…


Leave a Reply

