Betsy met the Dalai Who?

Betsy meets the Dalai LamaEvery now and again, I Google old friends’ names to see what they’re up to – i.e., whether or not they’ve done anything that would make them visible enough to put them in the top 10 Google search results on their respective names. I don’t search for everyone I knew, reserving my precious time spent in time-wasting efforts to those people whom I think have a legitimate shot of being highly “PageRanked”. One such person is Betsy “Save the World” Shenk (pictured above), who apparently had the opportunity to meet the Dalai Lama [PDF] during her travels with Operation Smile. The photo’s caption:

At the conclusion of Operation Smile’s October 2004 mission in Himachal Pradesh, India, the team had the opportunity to meet and talk with the Dalai Lama at his residence. After Mission Coordinator Betsy Shenk showed the Dalai Lama pictures of patients whose lives have been changed by Operation Smile, he complimented the team on their efforts.

My initial reaction was something like, “Holy ****! Betsy met the Dalai Lama!” However, upon further reflection I’ve come to the conclusion that the most shocking thing about this is not that she met the Dalai Lama, but that it took her so long to do so. Keep up the good work, Betsy!

One Comment on “Betsy met the Dalai Who?”

  1. Betsy says:

    Hey Cliff,
    So you don’t even want to know how I stumbled along this article but I do have to say it was the highlight of my “study/procrastination” today. Looks like things are going very well for you, congrats:) For me, yes, the Dalai Lama was quite a cool cat; possibly comparable to Mrs. Botti’s “life lessons” in Latin. However, I better start putting all those wordly lessons together for the next “google search” will have to be pretty good to top this one! Take care:)


Leave a Reply

